Angela's Ashes

Angela’s Ashes

By Frank McCourt

Published by Scribner

Copyright © 1996

Now a lot of people are going to be upset with me for saying this, but I absolutely could not get into this book. I gave it a good go, but by the time I had reached page 150 I just knew I wasn’t enjoying myself. If I am not enjoying myself, or if there is no direct benefit to reading a book I have to stop. There are so many books to read that I can’t waste my time on one I don’t like. That being said I am not saying that the book is awful, it just isn’t every ones cup of tea.

Angela’s Ashes is Frank McCourt’s autobiography. Basically it was a very depressing book. It was the Great depression, I was conceived out of wedlock, my father is a drunk who can’t hold a job, my siblings are dying, I’m moving to Ireland, I have to beg for food, I have to scavenge for coal, my house is a sewer, Catholic school teachers are horrible, and my relatives are horrible people who treat me like dirt. Yes a very sad story indeed. While my story isn’t that bad, it wasn’t any picnic either. Do you think I could write about my horrible life and make tons of money? Probably not. I’m sure there is some light of positivity that shines through at the end of the book that makes it all worth it, I just couldn’t bring myself to wait that long.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adult Non-Fiction, Biography, Memoir

Leave a Reply

