Mudball

By Matt Tavares

Published by Candlewick Press

Copyright © 2005

I am a big baseball fan, and I’m sucker for books about baseball. As I was searching for another picture book the other day I stumbled upon “Mudball”, and since spring training is here and I have baseball fever I knew I had to read this book.

“Mudball” is the story of Andy Oyler of the Minneapolis Millers. He is the smallest player on his team; heck he is the smallest player in the league. Andy just can’t seem to get a hit. He is in a big slump. The Millers are playing the St. Paul Saints and they are down 3 – 1 in the bottom of the 9th with 2 men on and hitless Andy at the plate. It seems like it is all over for the Millers, but just when things look their worst it starts to rain. This might just be a blessing in disguise.

While the story of Andy Oyler may be a bit of a fabrication, it is a wonderful baseball story none the less. No other sport can produce folklore the way that baseball does. Regular men are turned into giants and the slight of stature can be turned into David’s slaying the might giant. Whether it is true or not who doesn’t want to believe a story about someone small and down on their luck doing something great and becoming a hero. I for one absolutely love this story, and it just reminded me why I love the game of baseball so much.

Great book for children ages 6-10

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Picture Books, Folklore, Historical, People & Places, Seasonal, Sports

Leave a Reply

